Skip to main content

National Council announces 2013 Awards of Excellence honorees

March 01, 2013

Linda Rosenberg, president and CEO of the National Council, has announced the Council’s 2013 Awards of Excellence honorees, who will be recognized in an awards dinner on Tuesday, April 9, during the Council’s 2013 Conference at Caesar’s Palace in Las Vegas.  

Welcome Back Awards: Community Service

First Prize: Lois and Sam Bloom, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Second Prize: Candice Crawford, President/CEO, The Outlook Clinic, Mental Health Association of Central Florida, Inc., Orlando, FL 

Welcome Back Awards: Destigmatization
First Prize: Alison Malmon, Founder and Executive Director, Active Minds, Washington, DC 
Second Prize: David Granirer, Stand up for Mental Health, Vancouver, British Columbia  

Welcome Back Awards: Lifetime Achievement
First Prize: Major General (ARMY Ret.) Mark Graham and Carol Graham, Colorado Springs, CO
Second Prize: Michael Kuhl, President, Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance Louisville, Louisville, KY 

Welcome Back Awards: Primary Care
First Prize: Dr. Geogy Thomas, Medical Director, Dayspring Family Health Center, Jellico, TN 
Second Prize: Teen Health Connection, Charlotte, NC  

Welcome Back Awards: Psychiatry
First Prize: Timothy Florence, MD, Medical Director, Washtenaw Community Support and Treatment Services, Ypsilanti, MI  
Second Prize: Kelly Askins, MD, Medical Director, ValueOptions, Chattanooga, TN

Reintegration Awards: Achievement
First Prize: Elliott Steele, Executive Director, Vincent House, Pinnellas Park, FL
Second Prize: Carol Jean Garner, Director of Nonclinical Services, Midwestern Colorado Mental Health Center, Montrose, CO  

Reintegration Awards: Advocacy
First Prize: Dylan Henry, Morgan Henry, Travis Henry, and Mari Antclif, Hope and Advocacy, Helena, MT  
Second Prize: Fred Frese, MD, Hudson, OH

Reintegration Awards: Artistic Contribution
First Prize: Works of Heart Art Event and Auction Family Service & Guidance Center, Topeka, KS
Second Prize: Rebecca Atkins, Artistic Director, Second Step Players, Norwich, CT 

Reintegration Awards: Clinical Medicine
First Prize: Child and Adolescent Bipolar Services (CABS), Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic of UPMC Presbyterian-Shadyside, Pittsburgh, PA 

Reintegration Awards: Education
First Prize: Fountain House, New York, NY
Second Prize: The Jed Foundation, New York, NY 

Reintegration Awards: Employment
First Prize: Thresholds, Chicago, IL 
Second Prize: Mental Health Center of Denver, Denver, CO  

Reintegration Awards: Housing
First Prize: Main Street Housing, Inc., Baltimore, MD 
Second Prize: Jewish Board of Family and Children’s Services, New York, NY

Reintegration Awards: Mentorship
First Prize: Bipolar Babe, Andrea Paquette, Executive Director, Victoria, British Columbia 
Second Prize: Greg Dicharry, Magellan Health Services, Phoenix, AZ
Mental Health First Aid Community Impact
Winner: Austin Travis County Integral Care, Austin, TX     
Program of Significance:Fairfax-Falls Church CSB MHFA Initiative, Fairfax, VA 

Impact Awards: Excellence in Behavioral Healthcare Management
Winner: Grafton Integrated Health Network, Winchester, VA 
Program of Significance: Vinland National Center, Loretto, MN 

Impact Awards: Excellence in Health Information Technology
Winner: Rhode Island Quality Institute, Providence, RI   
Program of Significance: Riverbend Community Mental Health Center, Concord, NH  

Impact Awards: Excellence in Service Innovation
Winner: Burke Center Mental Health Emergency Center, Lufkin, TX   
Program of Significance: Southeast Mental Health Services, La Junta, CO  

Impact Awards: Visionary Leadership

Joe Dziobek, President/CEO, Fellowship Health Resources, Inc., Lincoln, RI 

Jose Frietze, CEO, Families and Youth, Inc., Las Cruces, NM 

Heather Gates, President and CEO, Community Health Resources, Windsor, CT

David Johnson, CEO, Navos, Seattle, WA 

George Kimes, Executive Director, Pennsylvania Community Providers Association    

Dan Ranieri, CEO and President, La Frontera, Tucson, AZ 

Back to Top